Capoeira added to UN cultural heritage list

00492Brazil’s martial art and dance, Capoeira, has been added to the United Nation’s list of the world’s intangible cultural heritage. The program aims to draw attention to the importance of safeguarding intangible heritage, which has been identified by UNESCO as an essential component and a repository of cultural diversity and creative expression.

It is Brazil’s sixth listed intangible cultural heritage. Others on the list include Frevo and Samba da Roda.


Rio de Janeiro awarded UNESCO World Heritage status

The city of Rio de Janeriro was elected by UNESCO on 1 July 2012 to be a World Heritage Centre. The reason given by UNESCO was for Rio’s iconic landscape and setting.

Rio is the 19th Brazilian World Heritage Centre.

The full list is:


  • Brasilia (1987)
  • Historic Centre of Salvador de Bahia (1985)
  • Historic Centre of São Luís (1997)
  • Historic Centre of the Town of Diamantina (1999)
  • Historic Centre of the Town of Goiás (2001)
  • Historic Centre of the Town of Olinda (1982)
  • Historic Town of Ouro Preto (1980)
  • Jesuit Missions of the Guaranis: San Ignacio Mini, Santa Ana, Nuestra Señora de Loreto and Santa Maria Mayor (Argentina), Ruins of Sao Miguel das Missoes (Brazil) (1983)
  • Rio de Janeiro: Carioca Landscapes between the Mountain and the Sea (2012)
  • Sanctuary of Bom Jesus do Congonhas (1985)
  • São Francisco Square in the Town of São Cristóvão (2010)
  • Serra da Capivara National Park (1991)


  • Atlantic Forest South-East Reserves (1999)
  • Brazilian Atlantic Islands: Fernando de Noronha and Atol das Rocas Reserves (2001)
  • Central Amazon Conservation Complex (2000)
  • Cerrado Protected Areas: Chapada dos Veadeiros and Emas National Parks (2001)
  • Discovery Coast Atlantic Forest Reserves (1999)
  • Iguaçu National Park (1986)
  • Pantanal Conservation Area (2000)