Frevo added to UNECSO’s cultural heritage list


UNESCO has added frevo to its list of the intangible cultural heritage of humanity. One of 16 new elements inscribed in December 2012.

UNESCO states: “Frevo is a Brazilian artistic expression comprising music and dance, performed mainly during the Carnival of Recife. Its quick frenetic and vigorous rhythm draws upon the fusion of musical genres such as marching music, Brazilian tango, square dance, polka and pieces of classical repertoire, performed by martial bands and fanfares. The music is essentially urban, and like the accompanying dance, ‘Passo’, is vigorous and subversive. The dance stems from the skill and agility of capoeira fighters, who improvise leaps to the electrifying sound of steel orchestras and bands.”

Among the reasons listed for its adoption on the list were:

1: Frevo constitutes a syncretic artistic expression recognized by the people of Recife as a festive symbol of their identity and continuity and constantly recreated by them in response to changing social conditions;

2: Its inscription on the Representative List could favour dialogue, promote mutual understanding, and foster appreciation of the creative spirit of humanity, thanks in particular to its openness to diverse people and communities;

3: The description of safeguarding measures is thorough and extensive, with well-identified activities focused on promotion, dissemination, documentation and education; the commitment of the communities and the support of the State Party are demonstrated;

4: The element was nominated following wide and active involvement of the community, associations and groups concerned, and their free, prior and informed consent is amply demonstrated;


Confederations Cup 2013 – Host Cities Chosen

FIFA has announced that the host cities for the 2013 Confederations Cup will be Belo Horizonte, Brasilia, Fortaleza, Recife, Rio de Janeiro and Salvador. All will be testing stadiums to be used in the 2014 World Cup.

The tournament, which will take place from 15 to 30 June 2013, will feature eight teams including Brazil as the host; Spain as reigning World Champions; Uruguay as the champions of South America; Mexico as champions of CONCACAF; Japan as the Asian champions; and they will be joined by the European, African and Oceania champions.

The eight teams will be split in to two groups with the top two in each group going forward to the semi-finals.

Fan Fest locations confirmed for 2014 World Cup

The twelve host cities for the 2014 FIFA World Cup will offer fans the chance to watch games in special locations known as FIFA Fan Fest.

“The FIFA Fan Fest symbolises the most exciting part of football and the FIFA World Cup: thousands of fans gathered to watch a match together and celebrate,” says ex-Brazilian legend Ronaldo, who is also a member of the Local Organising Committee Management Board. “The FIFA Fan Fest brings together people from all social backgrounds. As Brazilians, we have always had the custom of cheering for our national team in large popular festivals all over the country, therefore I’m sure that this will be the best FIFA Fan Fest of all time.”

Thierry Weil, FIFA’s Marketing Director, echoed Ronaldo’s words, saying “The FIFA Fan Fest provides FIFA and the LOC with a platform to strengthen the fan experience of the World Cup, taking the event to millions of fans outside of the stadiums.”

The FIFA Fan Fest first became part of the official World Cup programme in Germany in 2006, following the huge success of unofficial public viewing events in Korea during the 2002 cup. The success of the FIFA Fan Fest programme in Germany led to the concept being developed further for the 2010 World Cup, when not only the South African Host Cities but also six international venues hosted an event which welcomed over six million football fans over 31 days.

The locations of the FIFA Fan Fest in the twelve 2014 Host Cities are:

  1. Belo Horizonte – Praca da Estacaoo;
  2. Brasília – Esplanada dos Ministerios;
  3. Cuiaba – Parque de Exposicoes;
  4. Curitiba – Parque Barigui;
  5. Fortaleza – Praia de Iracema (Aterrao);
  6. Manaus – Memorial Encontro das Aguas;
  7. Natal – Praia do Forte;
  8. Porto Alegre – Praça Glenio Perez;
  9. Recife – Marco Zero;
  10. Rio de Janeiro – Praia de Copacabana;
  11. Salvador – Jardim de Alah;
  12. Sao Paulo – Vale do Anhagabau;