Five more countries qualify for 2014 FIFA World Cup

Football BeachAfter their games on 10 September, the Netherlands and Italy became the first European teams to guarantee their places at the 2014 FIFA World Cup. The Netherlands beat Andorra two-nil away, while Italy came from behind to beat the Czech Republic two-one.

On the same day the USA and Costa Rica became the first two teams from CONCACAF to qualify for the 2014 World Cup after the USA beat Mexico two-nil, and Costa Rica won the point they needed in a one-one draw with Jamaica.

Argentina also stamped its passport to the finals by beating Paraguay away by five goals to two. Argentina is the first team to qualify from the South America group. Brazil had already qualified as the host country.

Teams to have qualified for the 2014 FIFA World Cup now include:

  • Brazil
  • Japan
  • South Korea
  • Australia
  • Iran
  • Netherlands
  • Italy
  • Argentina
  • USA
  • Costa Rica