São Paulo retains Formula 1 Grand Prix

The Mayor of São Paulo, supported by the Governor of the State, has signed a new five year contract, with a possible five year extension, to continue to host a Formula One  Grand Prix in the city. 

The race is now to be called the São Paulo Grand Prix, rather than the Brazilian Grand Prix, presumably to leave the door open for Rio de Janeiro to build a new circuit to host a Brazilian Grand Prix.

The 2020 Brazilian GP, scheduled originally for 15 November 2020, was cancelled like many races due to Covid-19, but São Paulo is provisionally, at least until the ink dries, on the 2021 schedule to host a race on Sunday, 14 November 2021.

The decision should be popular with the Formula 1 teams given the size of the Brazilian market for many of the sponsors.

Brazilian Grand Prix 2016

InterlagosFIA, the governing body for Formula 1, has announced the provisional calendar for 2016 that will see a record 21 races. The Brazilian Grand Prix in São Paulo is scheduled for Sunday, 13 November 2016 and will again be the penultimate race of the season. In 2015 the race is scheduled for 15 November.

The 2016 season will start on 3 April in Australia and end in Abu Dhabi on 27 November.

Tickets go on sale for the Brazilian Formula 1 Grand Prix

InterlagosTickets have gone on sale for the 2014 Brazilian Formula 1 Grand Prix that takes place on Sunday, 9 November at the Interlagos circuit in São Paulo and which will be the penultimate race of the 2014 season that ends in Abu Dhabi on 23 November.

Three day Early Bird weekend passes start from as low as US$228.90 for Grandstand G all the way up to US$5,230.00 for the Premium Paddock Club.

To book direct CLICK HERE


Ayrton Senna drives Unidos da Tijuca to carnival victory

12923446995_1ccbe839d2_bWith a samba based on the life and times of Brazilian Formula One great, Ayrton Senna, Unidos da Tijuca drove to victory as the top samba school in Rio de Janeiro for 2014.

The very last of the twelve top samba school to parade, Unidos da Tijuca won a very close fought contest with Salgueiro, winning by just 0.1 of a point out of 300. The winner in 2013, Vila Isabel, could only manage tenth place in 2014.

Placing is important as the winning school can choose when it will parade the following year. The next school has second choice, and so on, until the one school coming up from the second division, Viradouro in 2015, gets the spot that is left.

azimuth:0.000000||elevation:0.000000||horizon:0.000000Normally the school choose to go late on, even last if they can, but there is a danger in going last as if for any reason the parade gets delayed, and it has been known to happen, then the last school may be going out in the first light of dawn or even daylight. Like a rock concert, that can make a big difference to the visual impact.

As well as the theme of Ayrton Senna, themes in 2014 included African rhythms (Imperio da Tijuca); the city of Marica (Grande Rio); Rio’s favelas, the city’s famous shanty towns (São Clemente); Brazilian celebrations (Mangueira); sustainability and preservation (Salgueiro); a tribute to one of Brazil most famous television executives, Bonifácio de Oliveira Sobrinho, o Boni (Beija-Flor); Pernambuco (Mocidade Independente de Padre Miguel); children’s toys (União da Ilha); Brazil’s natural and historical heritage (Vila Isabel),; Zico, one of Brazil’s greatest footballers and part of the best Brazilian team not to win the World Cup (Imperatriz Leopoldinense); and Avenida Rio Branco (Portela).

azimuth:0.000000||elevation:0.000000||horizon:0.000000The full results for 2014 were:

  • Unidos da Tijuca (299.4 points out of 300)
  • Salgueiro (299.3)
  • Portela (299.0)
  • União da Ilha do Governador (298.4)
  • Imperatriz Leopoldinense (297.6)
  • Grande Rio (297.20)
  • Beija-Flor (296.4)
  • Mangueira (296.2)
  • Mocidade Independente de Padre Miguel (296.0)
  • Unidos de Vila Isabel (295.9)
  • São Clemente (294.3)
  • Imperio da Tijuca (291.6)

Carnival 2014

Date of the 2014 Brazilian Grand Prix changed

Formula One racing’s governing body, the FIA, has published a revised calendar for the 2014 world championship following a meeting of its World Motor Sport Council in Paris.

The season will kick off in Australia on 16 March  and conclude in Abu Dhabi on 23 November. The two new races – in Austria and Russia – will be held on June 22 and October 12 respectively.

The Brazilian Grand Prix in São Paulo, that had been scheduled to close the season on 30 November, will now take place on 9 November and be the second last of the season.

Brazilian Formula 1 Grand Prix 2013 – Tickets on sale

Tickets are on sale for the Brazilian Grand Prix that takes place at Interlagos in São Paulo on Sunday, 24 November. It will be the last race of the 2013 season.

Weekend ticket prices for 2013 are:

Setor A – R$ 695
Setor B (covered and with food) – R$ 2.630
Setor M (covered) – R$ 1.450
Setor D – R$ 2.260
Setor E (covered and with food) – R$ 2.720
Setor F (covered) – R$ 1.350
Setor G – R$ 525
Setor V (covered and with food) – R$ 1.990

VIP Area
Premium Paddock Club – Star Lounge – R$ 11.200
Terrace Club – R$ 7.750
Interlagos Club – R$ 4.900
Orange Tree Club – R$ 3.780


Brazilian Grand Prix to close 2013 Season

The Brazilian Formula One Grand Prix will take place on Sunday, 24 November in 2013. As in 2012, the race at the Interlagos circuit in São Paulo will be the last of the season.

More often than not the Brazilian Grand Prix seems to decide who wins the drivers and often manufacturers championship.


  • 17 March – Australia (Melbourne)
  • 24 March – Malaysia (Sepang)
  • 14 April – China (Shanghai)
  • 21 April – Bahrain (Sakhir)
  • 12 May – Spain (Barcelona)
  • 26 May – Monaco
  • 9 June – Canada (Montreal)
  • 30 June – Britain (Silverstone)
  • 7 July – Germany (Nurburgring/Hockenheim)
  • 21 July – TBA
  • 28 July – Hungary (Hungaroring)
  • 25 August – Belgium (Spa-Francorchamps)
  • 8 September – Italy (Monza)
  • 22 September – Singapore (Marina Bay)
  • 6 October – Korea (Yeongam) *
  • 13 October – Japan (Suzuka)
  • 27 October – India (Buddh International)
  • 3 November – Abu Dhabi (Yas Marina)
  • 17 November – United States (Austin)
  • 24 November – Brazil (Interlagos)

* Subject to confirmation